First Day Jitters

Everyone is always nervous and excited to start a new job or position. With this new job comes so many responsibilities and opportunities and of course, you want to make a great first impression on your first day. In this post, i’m going to talk to you about my first day as an intern for the O.Henry Hotel and how to prepare for obstacles you may face on your first day.

Two weeks ago, I started my internship at the O.Henry Hotel and my first day was far from ordinary. Upon my arrival for my paperwork, I noticed a waterfall pouring down from the ceiling in the kitchen. I knew something was up but I continued on with my paperwork and orientation like everything was fine. Afterwards, I was scheduled to do a pastry follow in the kitchen. I was informed that one of the AC pipes had burst and caused a major leak into the kitchen. They thought it would be best if I went home and they would call me later. So, I leave, I’m almost back to campus when I get a call, they want me to return and do my pastry follow. I then turn the car around and head back to the hotel.

Does this seem like an ideal first day to you? Not to me, but I was able to make the best of the situation. I proved that I was flexible and willing to work around difficult situations. My advice is this, go with the flow especially in this industry. There are unpredictable things that happen every day and you need to be able to adapt.

Leave a comment