Working in the Events Kitchen.

Last night, I moved from the pastry kitchen to the events kitchen. Now, I know you’re thinking now she’s working in events, this is more her element. The answer is NO! Even though I’m working in the events kitchen, I still have no culinary training what so ever. Last night, we prepped food for a birthday party that was happening in the Green Valley Grill dinning room. It wasn’t a prefixed menu but just a limited offering on the normal menu that is offered. So during the night we cooked the food to order and plated it for the guests. The most challenging thing was getting the timing right and making sure the right amount of each dish was prepared properly for the guests. Even though I was completely out of my element, these experiences have me entertaining the thought of culinary school. Even if I don’t decide to follow that path, these experiences are helping me to learn more about the events industry.

One of my favorite dishes at Green Valley Grill is the Pecan Crusted Trout, it is absolutely delicious. I recommend this restaurant as well as their sister restaurants, Print Works Bistro for French style cuisine and Lucky 32 for a Southern style cuisine.

Here is a recipe for Pecan Crusted Trout. It isn’t from GVG but it is delicious, Give it a try at home!

2 thoughts on “Working in the Events Kitchen.

  1. kathrynhalliburton says:

    Wow thats amazing you may go to culinary school! I think event planning is far from easy and I could imagine it being very stressful because you always have be thinking of alternatives if something does not go quite according to plan. My brother works for a catering company in DC and he loves it but that it is also so much work! The Pecan Crusted Trout sounds amazing! I look forward to reading more about your blog in the upcoming weeks!

    Like

  2. jenburtonhpu says:

    I think it is great that you are so adaptable – both on the first day of your internship and then again while working in a kitchen so out of your element. Remember these stories for the very popular interview question about “dealing with the unexpected” – a particularly important question for event planners!

    Like

Leave a comment