The Hunt

Since graduation is right around the corner, I have been on the hunt for jobs. I am from Hagerstown, MD, not far from DC or Baltimore. In Hagerstown, there is nothing for me to pursue a career so I don’t want to go home. Ideally, I would like to move to Charlotte, NC and start my career in Event Management.

I have been actively searching for jobs because event coordinator isn’t something that pops up on sites such as Indeed, Monster or Glassdoor. I’ve had to reach out to hiring managers and even company owners to see if they are potentially hiring in May or foresee any opportunities for me at their company.

So far, out of the 10 companies that I have emailed, I have heard back form 2. Both of them have thanked me for reaching out to them and apologized for not having anything at this time but would keep my resume on file. Even though they didn’t have any openings at this moment it was nice of them to keep in on file for further consideration.

I wanted to give you all some advice incase you were in the similar situation.

1. Don’t give up

2. Reach out to everyone

3. Follow-up

4. Be bold

5. Have fun šŸ™‚

These are just some tips I tell myself and remind myself of when going through this process. It is very nerve racking and can be very hard but it is important to remember that something will happen. If you keep trying to put yourself out there, someone will hire you.

Here are some tips from my favorite how to site, Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “The Hunt

  1. kathrynhalliburton says:

    Great post! Job hunting is stressful and can be discouraging! I love all of your advice! I still am not sure what I want to do after graduation so I don’t even know really where to even start but I have a few ideas. Good luck with your job hunting I look forward to reading more of your blog in the coming weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jenburtonhpu says:

    Your positive attitude will serve as a real asset to your job search. It takes a lot of effort to land that first important career step. A lot of people get discouraged before that point.

    Like

Leave a comment